Sam Passamano, II, Steve Gulley,

Paula Breedlove, Mark “Brink Brinkman talk about the song

“God Didn’t Choose Sides” performed by Marty Raybon.

God Didn’t Choose Sides – Music Video


CD Cover

Cover art painting by Hongmin Zou titled “Resurrection Morn”

“GOD DIDN’T CHOOSE SIDES, Volume 1 – Civil War True Stories About Real People” contains original songs about lost loved ones, acts of kindness, selflessness, faith, family values and brotherhood.

There have been hundreds of books, movies and songs created about the battles, presidents, generals & heroes as told in our history books about the Civil War. However, rarely do we hear the stories

on a personal level of the unsung heroes who gave their lives or had their lives totally turned upside down during the War Between the States.

“GOD DIDN’T CHOOSE SIDES, Volume 1” is the first release from a new series of albums that focus on the common men and women who were thrown together into the realities and horrors of war and displayed amazing acts of kindness, selflessness, faith, love and brotherhood to their fellow Americans.

Project creator Sam Passamano, II explains; “Even as a young child I have always been drawn to the events and people during the Civil War, probably because of the importance these years had on our American history and culture. Being a second generation record executive and the president of Rural Rhythm Records, I have had a dream for a long time to do a different type of Civil War album project. There are many songs available about the popular military commanders, battles and the politics, but I wanted to focus on real stories about citizens, slaves and immigrants whose lives, and the lives of those around them, were changed forever because of the Civil War…these true stories and people should not be forgotten or lost through the years”.

This new music series combines today’s top Roots Music artists with new original songs written by some of today’s top songwriters bringing to life real stories about important people, places and events during the Civil War. Produced by Steve Gulley, “GOD DIDN’T CHOOSE SIDES, Volume 1” contains songs written by top Country, Bluegrass & Roots music songwriters; Paula Breedlove, Mark Brinkman, Brad Davis, Ray Edwards, Mike Evans and Terry Foust, with performances by #1 hit artists including Marty Raybon, Russell Moore, Ronnie Bowman, Lonesome River Band, Dale Ann Bradley, Bradley Walker, Tim Stafford, Steve Gulley, Carrie Hassler and more. In addition, a who’s who list of award winning musicians were chosen to accompany these top vocalists including; Ron Stewart, Adam Steffey, Justin Moses, Tim Stafford and Mark Fain.


1. I’m Almost Home – Steve Gulley – 2:59
2. A Picture OF Three Children – Russell Moore – 3:21
3. The Legend Of Jennie Wade – Lonesome River Band – 3:16
4. Christmas In Savannah – Dale Ann Bradley – 3:58
5. Providence Spring – Tim Stafford – 3:34
6. Old John Burns – Rickey Wasson – 2:48
7. The Lady In Gray – Ronnie Bowman – 2:52
8. Last Day At Vicksburg – Bradley Walker – 2:58
9. Rebel Hart – Brad Gulley – 3:04
10. Carrie’s Graveyard Book – Carrie Hassler – 2:46
11. The River Man – Dave Adkins – 4:33
12. God Didn’t Choose Sides – Marty Raybon – 3:16
13. There Is A Fountain – Gap Creek Quartet (Dale Ann Bradley, Steve Gulley, Don Gulley, Vic Graves) – 3:55